

August 07, 2023

Ms. Jessica Fitzwater
Frederick County Executive
Winchester Hall
12 East Church Street
Frederick, MD 21701

Re: Data Center Site Plan Review

Dear County Executive Fitzwater:

The Smarter Growth Alliance of Frederick County (SGAFC) is a coalition of local and state organizations with numerous members and supporters concerned with the application of smart growth principles in Frederick County. We appreciate and support your passage of Executive Order No. 04-2023, effective June 12, 2023, which issues a temporary hold on accepting, considering, and processing certain individual zoning map amendments and directing the creation of a work group to examine data center issues and benefits and develop a report.

In keeping with the principles stated in this Executive Order, the SGAFC has concerns about the continuing review and approval of site plans for data centers. We feel it is in the best interest of the County to pause and let some of the other processes play out before we continue down this path with many unknowns.

Therefore, the undersigned groups are requesting that you take your Executive Order one step further and issue a temporary moratorium or pause on data center site plan review and/or approval until the County's Data Centers Workgroup has made its recommendations, and the County has passed a revised data center ordinance. The reasons for the pause are to allow the Data Center Workgroup to complete their work, ensure a new more fully informed ordinance is examined and passed, and to prevent a rush in applications for data centers hoping to get permits prior to implementation of new requirements.

We appreciate your consideration of this matter.

Kind Regards,

Audubon Society of Central Maryland Citizens for Responsible Growth Cleanwater Linganore Climate Change Working Group
Envision Frederick
Fellowship of Scientists and Engineers
Friends of Rural Roads
Mobilize Frederick
Montgomery Countryside Alliance
Plant the Light
Sugarloaf Alliance
Sunrise Movement

CC: Frederick County Council:

**Council President Brad Young** 

Council Vice-President Kavonté Duckett

Council Member Steve McKay Council Member Renee Knapp

Council Member MC Keegan-Ayer

Council Member Mason Carter

Council Member Jerry Donald.

Frederick County Planning Commission:

Chair Craig Hick

Vice-Chair Joel Rensberger

**Secretary Tim Davis** 

Carole Sepe

Sam Tressler III

Masai Troutman

**Robert White** 

Frederick County Staff:

Chelsea Kadish

Victoria Venable

Patrick Murray